As a college student, I have been lucky enough to have many internship opportunities. The most recent internship I’ve had was working on the public relations team for Grand Hustle Records. Sounds pretty cool, right? Well, it was! I got to be amongst so many famous and legendary individuals while pursuing my career field. I’ve always had a passion for music, so this was pretty much right up my alley. One thing I will say though, working in the music industry is MUCH different than any other job I’ve had.

In the music industry, things aren’t structured the same as a typical corporate PR position. I picked up on that quickly. I literally had my interview for the job in a studio room across from where T.I. was recording his next single. It was like a whole new world. I got to come to work in basically whatever I felt like wearing, but of course I always came dressed the part just in case I happened to run into a celebrity or two!

Another really cool part about working for a record label was being able to go to the video shoots of Grand Hustle’s signed artists. Seeing an entire music video come together piece by piece was amazing! After the music videos are released it’s even more gratifying to watch thousands of fans talk about how much they love the videos and knowing you played a part in its success.

Now let’s talk business. Working in entertainment public relations with Grand Hustle helped me realize my true calling. I knew I had a passion for journalism but I also knew I wanted to work in a place that could blend that passion with my passion for entertainment. I was able to learn how celebrity publicists deal with crises and everyday situation for their clients. It’s truly a 24/7 type of job. Whenever your client needs you, you need to be there. If not, you’ll be replaced. It sounds hardcore but the return is amazing. The connections I’ve made just as an intern have helped me position myself for a great future within my profession. I may never sleep until retirement, but I know for a fact I’ll be doing what I love.

Here’s a T.I. video I assisted with during my internship!

Leave a Reply

