Ever wished there was a manual that tells you all of the best decisions to make throughout life? I sure do! Well, even though we may not have that, we definitely have experienced people that can lend advice to those willing to listen. One thing I feel that I am able to advise are some good practices for college students. I’ve complied my top five list of “Do’s” for a college student.MW-BE153_advice_20130614173008_MG.jpg

1.Get Involved

I think one of the best decisions I made as an undergrad student was getting involved on campus. I volunteered with over five organizations throughout my freshman and sophomore years that helped me better discover my passions. I never knew how much I loved event planning until I joined an event planning organization on campus. I met many of the friends I have today from being involved and also built many connections and references that I will carry into my professional career.

2. Intern!

The best advice I’ve ever gotten was to intern as EARLY as possible. I began interning as a sophomore in college which helped me figure out what I liked and also what I HATED. Some internships were paid and some weren’t but overall the experiences have helped me in more ways than I could have ever imagined.

3. Go to Office Hours

Some people may think it’s lame or uncool to have relationships with their teachers. In college, IT’S NOT. Many of my professors have worked in high-ranking positions of many different career fields and have decided to teach students how they can get there as well. If your schedule permits, I suggest visiting your professor’s office hours a few times throughout the semester. This will allow them to remember you more vividly as well as be an open door for suggestions. They can even put in a good word for a job or internship you are seeking!

4. Study Abroad

One program I didn’t do that I wish I had is study abroad. I became so enthralled with working during the summers that I didn’t realize the amazing opportunity I was passing up until recently. I have many friends that have studied abroad, including my best friend who is doing a semester-long study in Barcelona! Everyone raves about the experiences they have and through financial aid and scholarships, it’s probably one of the cheapest ways to go out of the country and explore.

5. Be YOURSELF

My last bit of advice is to BE YOURSELF. I capitalized it twice because I feel like this is the most important item on the list. It can be easy to lose yourself in the college hype. That’s why it’s so important to stay true to your values and beliefs. There are so many people in this world and every one of us is different …and purposefully so! Being your true self will make it 10 times easier to find your passions and thrive in them.

 

Leave a Reply

